Allegretto from Symphony No. 5 Mvt. 2

for String Orchestra


Shostakovich's Fifth Symphony was written in 1937 and premiered that year in Leningrad (St. Petersburg). It was a major success with an ovation lasting over 30 minutes. The symphony is approximately 45 minutes in length and has four movements. Allegretto is the second movement. It is a scherzo in form with a vein of humor that approaches grotesqueness. The work is a waltz parody with marcato sections of intense contrast.<br><br>This arranged and edited transcription is in first position for young people and maintains the original key. There are indicated cues for support of certain passages. Ossias are provided for the better players to perform within the original ranges. For younger groups who may find the duration a little challenging, it may be shortened by taking one or both of the two cuts indicated in the score. This is the first-ever publication for string orchestra from this great symphony.

$116.00 AU RRP inc GST

Availability: 2 Units in Stock

Publisher Southern Music Co.
Series Classic Masterworks Strings
Stock Code 294846
Supplier Item ID 294846
ISBN10 0003728465
UPC 888680943721
Medium Score/Parts
Category Ensemble
Subcategory 1 String Orchestra