Tchaikovsky - Complete Works for Violin and Piano

Tchaikovsky - Complete Works for Violin and Piano

Take a Closer Look


“This Critical Performance Edition is primarily based on the first print by the Russian publisher Jurgenson. In the Andante Funebre and Humoresque, the quartet and piano versions, respectively, were used for comparison. The composer accepted corrections by LeopoldAuer and Vassily Bezekirsky, which are indicated in the violin part. The Meditation, Scherzo and Melodie (collectively named Souvenir d'un lieu cher) and Serenade Melancolique are dedicated to the famed Russian virtuoso and pedagogue Leopold Auer. The Valse Scherzo was dedicated to the budding virtuoso violinist Josif Kotek. The Andante Funebre is dedicated to the memory of Ferdinand Laub, perhaps Tchaikovsky's favorite violinist. The Humoresque is an irresistible piece for piano transcribed by the composer for violin and piano. No violinist, nor indeed any performer has been capable of doing justice to the enormous stylistic and emotional range of these works more than Jascha Heifetz. Mr. Heifetz's enormous repertory included the complete oeuvre of Tchaikovsky. Mr. Heifetz's bowing, fingerings and performance suggestions are integral part of this edition.”

$64.95 AU RRP inc GST

Availability: 8 Units in Stock

Artist Jascha Heifetz
Composer Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Editor Endre Granat
Publisher Lauren Keiser Music Publishing
Series Heifetz Critical Edition
Stock Code 298304
Supplier Item ID 298304
ISBN10 1581066872
ISBN13 9781581066876
UPC 888680951887
Medium Softcover
Instrument Violin
Category Strings
Subcategory 1 Repertoire
Subcategory 2 Collections
Accompaniment Piano