Meditation from Thais

Arranged for Piano Solo


Thais, Massenet's tenth completed opera, had its premiere at the Paris Opera on 16 March 1894 with the American soprano Sibyl Sanderson in the title role. The libretto by Louis Gallet was based on Anatole France's novel of the same name, serialized in the Revue des deux mondes in 1889 and published in book form the following year.

The story tells of the conversion to Christianity of the courtesan Thais by the holy man Athanael, and his parallel but opposite conversion to a life dominated by lust for her. The "Meditation" for solo violin and orchestra, joining the two scenes of Act II, describes the beginning of Thais's conversion.

The work was not received well initially; by 1897, when Sanderson retired, it had reached only its fourteenth performance. But the "Meditation" was an instant success with violinists, and its religious association also encouraged church organists to play it at Mass during the Communion. Even Pope Pius X's motu proprio of 1903, specifically demanding that the msuic heard in church should "not include reminiscences of those employed in the opera house", could not prevail against it.

$21.95 AU RRP inc GST

Availability: 9 Units in Stock

Composer Jules Massenet
Arranger Roger Nichols
Publisher Edition Peters
Stock Code EP7821
Supplier Item ID EP7821
ISBN10 9790577085791
ISBN13 9790577085791
Format Piano Solo
Medium Softcover
Instrument Piano
Category Piano & Keyboard
Subcategory 1 Repertoire
Subcategory 2 Solos